Greg Sullivan Appointed to MSBA Board of Directors; Three Current Members Re-Appointed

October 3, 2012

MSBA Announces Appointment of Greg Sullivan and Re-Appointment of Three Others to Board of Directors

State Treasurer Steven Grossman, Chair of the Massachusetts School Building Authority (MSBA), today announced the appointment of Greg Sullivan to the MSBA Board of Directors, as well as the re-appointment of three other board members to two year terms effective October 3, 2012. 

Mr. Sullivan most recently served as the Massachusetts Inspector General, charged with overseeing the detection and prevention of fraud, waste and abuse in the expenditure of public funds and finished his second five-year term on August 2, 2012. Mr. Sullivan also played an instrumental role as a member of the Special Commission on Public Construction Reform in 2004. The Commission, which brought the first major changes to public construction in nearly 50 years, was charged with improving designer selection procedures, monitoring the hiring of experienced project managers on all municipal projects over $1.5 million, and ensuring the certification and prequalification of general contractors and subcontractors on major municipal projects.

“Throughout his distinguished career, Greg Sullivan has demonstrated an unequivocal commitment to bringing best practices to government and to public procurement,” said Treasurer Grossman.  “His managerial integrity is unsurpassed, as is his track record of protecting taxpayers’ money.  He is a natural addition to the MSBA Board, and we are deeply grateful for his willingness to continue to serve the people of the Commonwealth.”

“I am honored to be joining the MSBA Board of Directors and look forward to working with Treasurer Grossman, Executive Director McCarthy and my fellow Board members and the staff of the MSBA on shaping the academic and workforce development needs of the 21st century student by building cost-efficient and sustainable school buildings,” said Mr. Sullivan.

Mr. Sullivan will serve as one of four Treasurer-appointed Board members, along with Richard Bertman, Terry Kwan, and Mary Grassa O’Neill, who are being re-appointed to two year terms. He will succeed former Board member Lisa Turnbaugh, who has agreed to stay on as an advisor to the Board and to the MSBA’s professional staff.