MSBA Invites 44 Schools into Accelerated Repair Program

24 Districts will benefit from targeted school repairs
State Treasurer and Receiver General Deborah B. Goldberg, Chair of the Massachusetts School Building Authority (“MSBA”), and Jack McCarthy, MSBA Executive Director, announced that the MSBA Board of Directors invited 44 schools into the Authority’s Accelerated Repair Program. The main goals of the Accelerated Repair Program are to improve learning environments for children and teachers, reduce energy use and generate cost savings for districts. The program provides funding for the repair or replacement of roofs, windows and boilers in schools that are otherwise structurally, functionally and educationally sound.
“The Accelerated Repair Program allows us to partner with school districts on much-needed repairs that can greatly extend a school’s lifespan,” said Treasurer Goldberg. “Besides making the learning environment more comfortable for our schoolchildren, these repairs also make our schools more energy efficient and generate substantial cost savings. It’s a win-win for everyone involved.”
“The Accelerated Repair Program directly benefits thousands of children in these communities by sustaining their infrastructure in a cost effective manner,” said Executive Director McCarthy.
The MSBA partners with Massachusetts communities to support the design and construction of educationally-appropriate, flexible, sustainable and cost-effective public school facilities. Since its 2004 inception, the Authority has made over 1,500 site visits to more than 250 school districts as part of its due diligence process and has made over $11.3 billion in reimbursements for school construction projects.

District School
Blackstone Valley Regional
Vocational Technical School District
Blackstone Valley Regional
Vocational Technical High School
Boston Charles Sumner Elementary School
Curley K-8 School
David A. Ellis Elementary School
Donald McKay K-8 School
Dorchester Academy
Grover Cleveland Middle School
Young Achievers Science and Math Pilot K-8 School
Cambridge Fletcher Maynard Academy
Kennedy-Longfellow School
Chicopee Belcher Elementary School
Fairview Veterans Memorial Middle School
Deerfield Deerfield Elementary School
Fairhaven Hastings Middle School
Greenfield Federal Street Elementary School
Leicester Leicester High School
Leominster Johnny Appleseed Elementary School
Ludlow East Street Elementary School
Middleborough Memorial Early Childhood Center
New Bedford Alfred J. Gomes Elementary School
Casimir Pulaski Elementary School
Hayden-McFadden Elementary School
John A. Parker Elementary School
Sgt. William H. Carney Memorial Academy
North Reading E. Ethel Little School
Peabody Peabody Veterans Memorial High School
Quincy Beechwood Knoll Elementary School
Merrymount Elementary School
Revere Garfield Elementary School
Springfield Daniel B. Brunton School
Mary M. Walsh School
Springfield Public Day High School
STEM Middle Academy
Stoughton West Elementary School
Taunton Edmund Hatch Bennett School
Joseph H. Martin Middle School
Wareham John W. Decas Elementary School
Watertown Watertown Middle School
West Bridgewater Spring Street Elementary School
Worcester Flagg Street School
Francis J. McGrath Elementary School
Grafton Street School
Jacob Hiatt Magnet School
Wrentham Delaney Vogel School